jump to navigation

When do you read? August 29, 2008

Posted by Matsu in Education, Random, Uncategorized, Web.
trackback

I love books. I love to read. If you are like me, you read a lot. So, how do you get all the reading in you want? I never feel like I ever get close to reading everything I want to read. 

If you know me or work with me, you know that my office (and outside my office) is full of books, magazines, printed copes of articles or blog posts I’ve found on the Internet and much more. I can’t possibly read it all, but I also can’t just get rid of it without reading it. Otherwise, I’d be giving up the opportunity to learn and grow and become better equipped to do my job.

Because of my heavy meeting schedule at work (during the day) I tend to do most of my reading after I get home — nights and weekends. Often, I find myself reading well into the night, well past what could be considered a healthy person’s bed time. 

In addition to reading a home during the evenings and on the weekends, I also like to always have something with me to read if I have to wait for something (like in the dentist office or waiting for my son’s physical therapy appointment to be over). I read anywhere and everywhere at any time. Still, it’s not enough. I just can’t obsorb all of the information I need or want.

Welcome to the information age where one can’t possibliy ready everything and learn all that is availalbe to one that tries to keep their knowledge current and relevent.

Comments»

1. Moose - September 1, 2008

Like you, I read a lot. However, what I am having to do (learn to do, haven’t done it yet) is to be more selective about what I read.

You are right in this age there is more than enough to let us read to eternity and not scratch the surface.

So, how does one discern???

2. Pedro Pinheiro - September 2, 2008

I love reading also, but I’ve gained independence from the medium. Since about 2002 I started reading most of my books and magazines in eBook format. I started on my Palm (actually at the time a Treo 180), went through several Nokias, a Qtek 9090, and nowadays I read on my iPod Touch.

If you can get used to it, it’s wonderful. You save on the price of books, as eBooks are usually cheaper (and you don’t have to pay shipping), your whole (or most of it) library is at your fingertips without weighing any more or taking more space, you can check any word on any loaded dictionary, and you can take advantage of any slice of time to read a little more.

Unfortunately, not all books/authors are available as eBooks, so I do still read a lot on paper.

3. Chris J. Davis - September 3, 2008

That is a good question. I have had to purposefully set aside time to read, sometimes this is uh… bathroom time and at others it is a couple of minutes before bed.

I have also needed to be selective of what I read, so quality over quantity.

4. Kevin L. Collins - September 8, 2008

Mostly at night after everyone else has gone to bed. That way it’s peaceful.

Unfortunately, with things being what they are with Church and my side biz, find the time lately has been hard.


Leave a Reply

