jump to navigation

See your reflection in others July 2, 2008

Posted by Matsu in Family, Friends, History, Humor, Japan, Photography, Weblog.
trackback

Dr. Bacchus ReflectionIt is interesting how much one learns of themselves by interacting with others. Yes, by interacting with people around you it helps you see yourself better and therefore you end up knowing yourself.

In the past several years I’ve worked with a person who has brought into focus the amount of influence my upbringing has affected my personality and character. I grew up in Japan. In fact, I spent most of the first 18 years of my life there, with the exception of three times when we lived in America for a year each time while on furlough. Well, the oriental influence on me is inescapable. And, this co-worker has been like a highly reflective mirror and given me a better view of myself and how I’ve been shaped by the oriental influences of my childhood.

One of the characteristics of oriental society is subtle communication. So, when I saw this photo posted on the Kyoto Daily Photo blog, I laughed out loud. It typifies how subtle the Japanese people can be, and by extension, how I am at times. The theme for the July 1st daily photo blog photos is “no.” The assignment is to take photos of signs that say “no” or “not permitted.” So, the photo of a walking path of large stepping stones with a single smaller stone sitting atop the first step means, “do not enter,” in the social language of Japan. That is a wonderful example of how small and subtle communication is in Japan — and while it’s subtle, I find it also to be crystal clear and almost obvious. But, that’s just because I think in those same terms.

So, thank you Bert for giving me a better view of myself and through that awareness, making this photograph that much more meaningful and amusing.

Disclaimer: The photo used in this post has nothing to do with the Kyoto Daily Photo blog. I wanted to use the stone path photo, but I didn’t have permission. Therefore, I found a good friend’s photo on the Wilmore Daily Photo blog site and used it without his permission. Hey, what is a friend going to do, sue me? Oh, oh! He seems to be tight with the local police. Maybe I should reconsider my attititude!

Comments»

1. Maria - July 2, 2008

Actually, I took that picture. And I hate to take away your sense of rebellion, but ‘s ok with me. 😉

2. Moose - July 2, 2008

The picture is superb!! The blog entry is good and interesting. Over the years I have opportunity to get to know you more and more Matsu and this pleases me greatly. You have in Bert an excellent partner for you as well.

3. Matsu - July 2, 2008

Maria, that photo (of Dr. Bacchus’ reflection) immediately struck me when I first saw it. That has to be one of my favorite photos of the entire Wilmore Daily Photo site, and there are a lot of good photos posted there.

I am very impressed with the artists eye that your husband (and maybe you) have when you take those pictures. Until now I’ve assumed they were all taken by him, but now I wonder if YOU are the photographer. They are all very well composed and are often taken at an interesting angle.

Thank you for permission to use that photo of Dr. Bacchus. Now I won’t have to hide from the Wilmore police.


Leave a Reply

