jump to navigation

New phone books fill recycle bins… April 24, 2008

Posted by Matsu in Random, Uncategorized.
trackback

New Phone Books

I spent most of this evening at a hotel where my son’s school was hosting a fund raiser. At one point I received a phone call and stepped out of the ballroom so I could hear the person calling and so I could talk more loudly without disturbing everyone else enjoying their dinner. The nearest exit took me to the hotel service area. What I witnessed just amazed me. The hotel employees were breaking up large bundles of new phone books and taking them out of their large plastic wrappers before tossing them into recycle bins. They must have had about a dozen large recycle bins completely full of new phone books.

This photograph shows just a sample of what I saw. When I asked one of the workers what they would be doing with the rest of the phone books that wouldn’t fit into the recycle bins he said that they had to wait until the blue bins were empty and then they would repeat the process and fill them up with new phone books again.

They would repeat that until all of the new phone books were disposed of. That is an awful waist of resources. Why print and deliver so many phonebooks to hotels only to have them throw away thousands of new phone books. There is something very wrong with that picture.

Comments»

1. Rich Bowen - April 25, 2008

Didn’t you know that 90% of all adults look in the yellow pages at least once a year? You’re so insensitive to the plight of the yellow pages industry!

But, seriously, yes, that’s dreadful.

2. Ken Clark - May 6, 2008

Used my hotel copy while in Seattle last week. Wasn’t familiar with the area and found what I needed in about a minute without having to pay the hotel $9.95 to use their Internet connection for 24 hours. Now that’s a real shame…


Leave a Reply

