jump to navigation

Linksys WVC54GC webcam reviewed March 10, 2008

Posted by Matsu in Information Technology, Technology, Web, Windows/Microsoft.
trackback

Linksys WVC54GC webcamLast week I ordered a couple of Linksys WVC54GC web cameras to test out the technology for potential use at work. Well, they arrived this afternoon so I couldn’t resist the temptation to unbox one of them and set it up. I had to know if it was as easy to set up as I had heard. Well, it’s not.

I must say the first roadblock I ran into was the requirement to use Windows to run the setup software. I figured it would be like a Linksys wireless access point and they would have a web interface to setup the hardware. But, that wasn’t the case. I couldn’t use my Mac to set it up. I had to use a Windows based computer. Grrr!

Once I ran the setup program and configured the wireless web camera I went to my Mac to see the streaming video image. But, it didn’t work. I went back to a Windows computer and entered the IP address of the camera and it then prompted me to install an ActiveX program. Grrrr! It requires Internet Explorer and ActiveX to view the camera image. So, I not only can’t configure the camera using my Mac, I can’t even watch the video image from my Mac.

Believe it or not, the video image on the Windows computer was decent. It had a much higher quality than I expected. I was able to point the camera to a television and then watch that TV through the web browser (provided I was using Internet Explorer — Grrrrr!). The only fault I have with the video image is the size — it’s fairly small (320 x 240 resolution). You can enlarge that on the viewing end to a full 640 x 480, but it’s a just “fat” pixels, not an improvement on the image resolution.

If you are a Mac user and need a web cam, this is not the model for you. Keep shopping. But, if you are a Windows user this may be just the web camera you were looking for. It worked very well using the Windows computer.

Comments»

1. Moose - March 13, 2008

I jsut got a “wired” Logitech IM Plus Quickcam….

I’m running Vista…

I get a whopping 3 frames per second.

Not pleased.

2. New Webcam - DrBacchus' Journal - March 31, 2008

[…] few weeks ago, we bought a webcam at work, and got the wrong model. The model that we wanted has an extra A on the end of it.The extra A made all the difference. I […]

3. John C. - August 30, 2008

This site has a good set of instructions on how to embed the WVC54GCA onto a web page. I tried it and it worked very slick!

http://www.ultratech.us/ultra/?p=13

Give it a try.

4. Mark - August 31, 2008

Actually, I just posted instructions on how to embed this cam also. click here for instructions on how to mebed the Linksys WVC54GC. http://www.ultratech.us/ultra/?p=297

5. Edward Harvey Kramer - February 22, 2009

I am not able to set up my web cam. My computer does not recognize the web cam even though I followed all of the instructions on the CD.

I tried it on a second computer and got the same results. Any idea what I can do to make it work? It is a refurb web cam I got on EBAY. copywriter111@msn.com

6. Edward Harvey Kramer - February 22, 2009

I forgot to menion that on my second computer is VISTA but the system did not work on either.

7. Letha - July 17, 2013

Break your 3 normal main meals into 5 smaller portion sizes – morning, snack, lunch, snack, dinner.

Anyone who dares to make a closer inspection will find
the underlying difference. Who does not need that little bit of elevation when trying to
diet.

8. Michaela - August 7, 2013

Even though your goal is just to lose 5 pounds in a week, you should be strict with what you do
so as not to inadvertently undo all your hard work for vegetarian weight loss.
For many working to lose weight, one failure is enough to
get them off the path to success. Hence, broccoli is a must-add
ingredient in your vegetarian weight loss diet.


Leave a Reply

