jump to navigation

Great poetry and great illustrations make for a wonderful book January 26, 2008

Posted by Matsu in Fun, Humor, Random.
trackback

Flamingos on the Roof bookOver the weekend I listened to a segment of NPR’s Weekend Edition with Scott Simon and Daniel Pinkwater. During the radio show each week they have a recurring segment on children’s books.

Last weekend Daniel Pinkwater reviewed a children’s book of poetry called, “Flamingos on the Roof” by Calef Brown. After hearing them read just a couple of the poems I knew I had to order a copy. I really connected with the author.

After seeing the cover and hearing the reporters describe the illustrations, I knew I would like the art as much as I did the poems. So, I ordered a copy of the book right away.

If you are curious and just want to hear a couple of poems from the book, you can go over and read about this segment of NPR’s Weekend Edition and see for yourself why that got me hooked. On that web page you can click on the “listen now” button to hear the recording of that broadcast. Enjoy!

Comments»

1. Great poetry and great illustrations make for a wonderful book - Great poetry and great illustrations make for a wonderful book - January 26, 2008

[…] them read just a couple of the poems I knew I had to order a copy. I really connected with it. … Read more… | Suggest Tags: book 1990 who Designs Modern cross-stitch designs are distinguished by … Look […]

2. Media Districts Entertainment Blog » Great poetry and great illustrations make for a wonderful book - January 26, 2008

[…] GamePolitics.com put an intriguing blog post on Great poetry and great illustrations make for a wonderful bookHere’s a quick excerpt […]

3. Rich Bowen - January 26, 2008

Pinkwater is himself a fantastic (and freakishly prolific) author. His stuff is worth checking out. I didn’t realize he had a show on NPR now. I’ll have to try to listen to it now and then.

4. Pages tagged "flamingos on the roof" - February 8, 2008

[…] bookmarks tagged flamingos on the roof Great poetry and great illustrations make for a wo… saved by 23 others     NarutoFanGirl1212 bookmarked on 02/08/08 | […]


Leave a Reply

