jump to navigation

Final post of 2007 December 31, 2007

Posted by Matsu in Family, Weblog.
trackback

This time of year I like to take a 3 or 4 day retreat in total solitude and away from everyone. I do that to both look back at the previous year to consider what I’ve done or not done that I should have and then look ahead and consider the things that I would like to do in the year before me. Unfortunately, circumstances make it impossible to take my usual retreat. So, I must ponder the year past and the year future while in my usual surroundings.

First, let me say this past year has not been a normal one. Far from it, in fact. It has been especially difficult with a great amount of personal pain and suffering. And, as it relates to this blog, I have written much less than I would have liked.

Part of the problem of keeping up with postings on this blog site was the lack of time, especially this past fall as I was busy not only with my usual work responsibilities but I also taught an undergraduate class which took up much of my ‘free’ time. This is the first year I’ve taught this particular class so I ended up spending much of my evening and weekend time preparing lectures, creating tests, and grading homework. I’m glad I was able to take on this additional work as it was very satisfying and a great distraction to my usual responsibilities and the stresses of the job. I look forward to teaching that class again, if given the opportunity.

One thing that I am especially satisfied with this past year is the group of people who make up the I.T. department where I work. This past summer I finished my 7th year in my current job. In that time there has been turnover in almost every position. And, I’ve had the opportunity to hire many qualified individuals to fill the open positions. I must say that we have created what is probably the best group of I.T. people that my institution has ever had.

It’s quite the luxury to have a strong and highly motivated I.T. staff and management team, but that’s what I’ve got. To make matters even better, there hasn’t been any turnover this past year by my managers so the team has been able to learn to work (and fight) with each other. They truly love and respect each other and hold each of us (for I am also a member of the management team) to do our very best. I hold the bar high and expect the best and they give it. I can’t help but think of them as the “dream team” of I.T. managers. It is because of them that we have had the successes we experienced this past year.

As I look to the year ahead I see many challenges and know of many problems that we must yet solve, but I also feel great comfort in the team that will make the impossible possible through their dedication, ingenuity, and shear determination.

Speaking of the year ahead, it wouldn’t be a new year if I didn’t consider a few new year’s resolutions. I found a list of top ten new year’s resolutions, but I won’t be borrowing any of them for my own resolutions this year. Instead, I’ve selected three new year’s resolutions. One of them is directly related to this blog site. I resolve to write 52 blog posts this new year. That’s an average of one each week. I think that with a specific goal I will stand a good chance of accomplishing it. And, applying the advice found on this website, I am writing down this goal (in this post) and will work on it all year long. Anyone who follows my blog will know how well I’m doing on this resolution.

The other two resolutions I’ll keep to myself for now, but they are very specific and I’ll be working on them starting January 2nd. Both will be difficult, but not impossible. And, neither of them have anything to do with dieting or money or anything like that.

What have you decided to start doing or stop doing in the new year? Did you make any new year’s resolutions? What are they? If not, why not?

Comments»

1. Ruth - January 1, 2008

Happy New Year, Matsu. I’m really glad you posted. I’ve missed reading your blog!

I didn’t do a New Year’s resolution post yet, but I’m thinking about it…


Leave a Reply

