jump to navigation

My thoughts and prayers go out to VA Tech April 16, 2007

Posted by Matsu in News, News and politics, Religion.
trackback

As I sit here, watching my son play baseball, I can’t help but feel like I did on Sunday, August 27th, 2006. On that day 49 people lost there lives when Delta Flight 5191 crashed on take-off at the local airport. While I did not personally know anyone on that flight, I still went through a time of mourning for those who died and their families’ loss. That afternoon my son had a baseball game. Most of the parents that day were quiet and somber as our boys played. Any talking among parents was usually quiet exchanges of what we knew or had heard from friends or relatives that worked at the airport or were with the local emergency services.

So, today I once again sit quietly as my son plays the game thinking of tragedy and the suffering of people I did not know but grieve for nonetheless. Working in higher education I feel a connection with Virginia Tech. Also, I know a couple of the I.T. staff who work there. I met them at a SANS conference several years ago. I was impressed by their technical competence and understanding of computer security. At this point, I have no reason to believe they were victims in today’s shootings. I hope they weren’t.

My thoughts and prayers go out to all of the faculty, staff, and students of VA Tech. I know their pain and grief is beyond my comprehension, but I still grieve with them. We all feel their loss today.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

