jump to navigation

Today’s lesson: Books are not water-proof February 8, 2007

Posted by Matsu in Uncategorized.
trackback

This week, the outside temperature in my part of the world has been well below freezing, even below zero for a brief time. Well, one poor water pipe could not take it any more and it froze up. Last night, it burst and before we discovered it, most of the basement was flooded and all of the books we have were wet. Most of the books were soaking wet, though a few were just partially wet.

We did what we could: dried off the surfaces, moved the partially wet stuff out of the basement, and used a wet-vac to get the water down to a manageable level, but it’s still a mess.

Now, we have about 1,000 books drying in our garage. I don’t know if there is any hope of salvaging them, but I’m going to try.

So, remember to put your books in zip-locked bags before placing them on the bookshelf. Then, if there is a flood or water pipes burst, you will have something to read.

Comments»

1. Laura - February 8, 2007

this makes me exceedingly sad. 😦 We missed you today-hope the recovery efforts go well.

2. Ruth - February 8, 2007

Oh, NO! I am so sorry to hear this. Loss of life would be worse, but loss of books is pretty tragic in itself.

Send us some of that water, will you? We’ve hardly had any rain in weeks, and we’re having to buy trucks of water to fill up our cistern!

3. Man vs. Nature: Guess who won « Matsu’s World: The One Less Traveled - February 21, 2007

[…] I drove to the mountains of Eastern Kentucky (USA) to check on my mountain cabin. As I mentioned in this previous post, it has been well below freezing in central Kentucky and water pipes have begun to freeze. […]

4. Six hundred and sixty-six water-logged books on the wall « Matsu’s World: The One Less Traveled - March 5, 2007

[…] I know this sounds strange to many of you reading this, but I don’t want the money, I want the original books back, in their original condition. Some of them hold a lot of sentimental value. When I read a book, I tend to mark it up and write notes in the margins. But, even if I didn’t do that, I feel some sort of attachment with the books I’ve read. And, believe it or not, I did not get around to reading all 666 paperback books before they got wet in my flooded basement. (See previous post about the flood, here.) […]


Leave a Reply

