jump to navigation

Are bookmarks no longer used? November 3, 2006

Posted by Matsu in Information Technology, Microsoft, Web, Weblog, Windows/Microsoft.
trackback

Do you remember the 1990’s? If so, do you remember how important bookmarks were? It was a very big deal to keep track of important web sites by saving the url in the browser’s bookmark. I hardly ever use bookmarks anymore, though I find myself still saving web url’s as bookmarks. I guess it’s just a hard habit to break.

Earlier today I downloaded Microsoft’s new version of Internet Explorer (7.0). I was immediately struck by the fact that it didn’t have menus, like it used to. And, there was no more bookmark (or favorites) menu. Now, before you post a comment to explain that the menu items have moved down to the control bar, I know that there is a favorites thingy there. I just don’t see it the same as a menu in the menu bar with full-sized text (instead of the squinty type in a small pop-up menu). But, I’m getting off track.

Even before IE 7 came out, I used bookmarks less and less. Instead, I either knew the website url or I quickly found it by googling (sorry, Google – it’s a verb) the web site and finding it seconds later. I almost never went back to my list of bookmarks to find that web site that I couldn’t remember, but I knew I visited one time. I guess for me, Google has become my new bookmarks database and that works for me.

What about you? Do you still make bookmarks (favorites) of websites you want to keep track of?

Comments»

1. Pedro Pinheiro - November 4, 2006

I use bookmarks (and the Google Firefox extension that syncs, among other info, bookmarks) for the URLs that I use everyday (on my bookmarks toolbar), or more infrequently (on the bookmarks menu). I don’t bookmark URLs that I just find interesting, but URLs that I use frequently.

2. Matsu - November 11, 2006

Pedro – that’s an interesting way to expand the use of bookmarks. I use Google for a lot of things, but not for that. I may have to check that out. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

