jump to navigation

The modern hospital: Wi-Fi everywhere! October 24, 2006

Posted by Matsu in Family, Information Technology, Technology.
trackback

This evening, while I was playing racquetball, I received word that my daughter was feeling very ill. So ill, in fact, that she needed to go to the emergency room at our local hospital. That was about 4 hours ago.

I don’t have much to report about my daughter’s condition (she asked me not to post pictures), but I can tell you that a little while ago I decided to get out my laptop to see if maybe they have an open wireless network. Wonder of wonders, they did. It was even named in a way that I felt like I was supposed to use it (the word ‘guest’ is in the network name). So now I’m checking my e-mail and surfing the net as I wait hour after hour for a diagnosis on my daughter.

Is this normal? Do many hospitals provide Wi-Fi throughout their buildings for patients and visitors to use? Where I am in the emergency room, there are eight ‘visible’ wireless access points that I can see with my laptop software. So, there is very good coverage.

Hopefully, my daughter’s test results will rule out an appendicitis, but if it doesn’t and they must keep her here over night, I should be able to communicate back to the office and update them on my schedule. That is very helpful.

Update: My daughter did not have an appendicitis, but she did have an infection that took a couple of days to clear up. She is doing much better now and is back at college.

Comments»

1. DrBacchus - October 25, 2006

Fortunately, I’ve not spent enough time in ERs to have any information on that, but when I worked at St. Joseph there was wireless almost everywhere else, for the use of the doctors and nurses and their roaming handheld gear they used to check patient records. That network was supposedly not public, but if you had a little imagination (and I do mean a little) you could get on it pretty easily.

2. Ruth - October 25, 2006

Hi Matsu, I hope your daughter will be diagnosed quickly and get well soon.


Leave a Reply

