jump to navigation

It’s not rocket surgery! September 18, 2006

Posted by Matsu in Humor, Random, Technology.
trackback

About four weeks ago I was working way too many hours for too many days trying to get ready for the start of fall semester and I was exhausted. Late one night I was discussing something with Bert that I don’t remember now, but it was important at the time. Trying to impress on him that whatever it was that needed to get done for the technology to work could be done without too much intellectual effort I blurted out, “It’s not brain science!”

Bert immediately recognized my sleep deprived faux pas and responded without missing a beat and said, “Don’t you mean it’s not rocket surgery?” It was a perfect comeback. Bert had actually put in more hours than me and he still had a great sense of humor.

Even now, as I remember that moment, it makes me laugh out loud. Since then, I’ve said that phrase about a dozen times because it relieves the tension at work. Bert’s used it almost as often as I have. Truly, we must learn not to take ourselves so seriously.

Laugh a little; it’s good for you and great for those who you may be responsible to manage at work. Remember, it’s not rocket surgery!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

