jump to navigation

Remembering September 11, 2001 September 11, 2006

Posted by Matsu in News and politics, Random.
trackback

Where were you on September 11th when the planes hit the World Trade Center towers? I was sitting in a semi-weekly meeting with some of my staff. We were in the middle of an Instructional Technology Team meeting when someone came into the I.S. conference room and told us that the World Trace Center tower was on fire. We immediately turned the TV on and watched for a while. I think we were watching when the second tower was hit, but I can’t say for certain because I saw that video replay at least a hundred times that day so it seems like I saw it when it happened.

Then, the towers began to fall. We ended up cutting the meeting short and began to verify that our critical communications systems (Internet and telephone) were fully functional because many people on our campus would be checking with family in the New York area.

There was a lot of chaos that morning. Lots of misinformation from the major broadcast news organizations was reported as they tried to figure out what was going on. When all planes were grounded, we knew there was a national threat that went beyond a building in New York. I remember they could not seem to either find out or figure out where the President of the United States was throughout that day. How could you lose a President?

I remember the most eerie feeling that night as I looked up in the sky and didn’t see or hear a single airplane. That lasted for a few days. Then, when I once again heard a plane in the sky I found that sound to be just as foreign as the absence of that sound had been just a few days prior. It was all very surreal and in some ways, looking back, it seems more like a dream than a memory.

But, it happened. All of it. God be with those who were there and survived. God be with those who were not there, but lost loved ones. In New York. At the Pentagon. On Flight 93. I am certain that for them the past five years have done little to dull their pain or lessen their nightmares. They are all in my thoughts and prayers.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

