jump to navigation

Hair cut ends with a BANG! July 14, 2006

Posted by Matsu in Random, Uncategorized.
trackback

This evening, after I got off work, I went to get my hair cut at a local barber shop. My experience there was pretty normal. Afterwards, while I was stopped at an intersection, my car was hit from behind with a crunch and a bang! OUCH!

The good news is that I was not injured. The bad news is that my rear bumper is damaged. But, that’s not the end of this story. There is more…

After my car was hit I pulled off to the side and out of the intersection. The red truck that hit me did the same. A few minutes later, while we were looking at the damage and the other driver was trying to convince me that ‘it was nothing’ a car driving by began to slow down and they were rear-ended very hard by a large truck. That car was already moving at around 30 miles an hour and when they were hit it propelled them off the road (about 50 feet past where I was standing). They drove through some hedge rows and over a telephone splice box (which was demolished) and down an embankment to the back of a nearby parking lot.

I had already called 911 to report my minor accident, so when the second accident happened I immediately called the emergency operator, again. This time they dispatched several police cars, three fire trucks, and a couple of ambulances. It was amazing how many emergency and police vehicles arrived. Of course, since nobody was hurt in my accident and because there were injuries in the second accident, they told us to wait until they attended to the other accident victims.

About an hour later the police finally got back to me and I was able to file a police report. I am thankful that my accident wasn’t worse and I’m hopeful that the people in the other accident were not injured seriously. They were very shook up after the accident, but they were able to get out of the car and didn’t seem to have life-threatening injuries. Although, they went to the hospital just to make sure.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

