jump to navigation

WordPress features wish list July 10, 2006

Posted by Matsu in Information Technology, Open Source, Technology, Web, Weblog.
trackback

WordPress LogoNow that I’ve been using WordPress for almost ten months I have a good sense of what I can do with it and how it works. Overall, I really like this blog environment and find it to be easy to navigate and operate. But, I do have a couple of ideas for the WordPress developers that I think if added would be useful features that many people would appreciate.

First, once you create more than a few pages of posts (I have my blog settings set to show five postings at a time or per web page), it takes some work to find early posts. I wish that there was a simple index feature that would list all of the posts just by title. Just one line per entry. That way, you could have 50 or even 100 posts on a single web page. Then, when you find the title you are looking for (or if you are just browsing, when you find an interesting title) you click on it and it takes you to the full post. Yup, that’s what I wish was built into WordPress.

My second idea is a little more strange, but nonetheless useful. Over time I have placed a lot of links in my blog posts. In fact, sometimes I intentionally blog about something in order to capture a link that I know I can find when I need it again in the future. So, my second wish is about all of those links in all of my posts. I wish that WordPress developers would create a way to list all of the links in all of the posts in my blog. But, not just display them in a single column of URL’s. Instead, I wish that the list showed the link in context. One way to do that would be to show the entire sentence where the link was embedded. Another would be to just display the 3 or 4 words before and after the hyperlinked text. Either way, it would give me an easy way to see all of the links that I’ve added to my blog over time.

So, what do you think? Would you like to see either of these features added to WordPress?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

