jump to navigation

Schizophrenic Mac users eager to run Windows software July 2, 2006

Posted by Matsu in Apple, Information Technology, Mac, Microsoft, Software, Technology, Windows/Microsoft.
trackback

Scott, one of the guys at work, sent the IT department a link to this article at MacWorld magazine. Reading it makes me think how odd it is that Mac users, who choose to use Apple products and run Mac OS X because it’s not Windows, are so hyped up over the possibility of running Windows applications on their Macs. Do they have operating system schizophrenia?

Now, I must disclose that I am one of those Mac users. I’ve been using Mac-like software and the Lisa operating system since 1983, which was before the Mac was released. I supported the Apple Lisa and trained people on how to use Lisa Write, Lisa Draw, and Lisa Paint. Then, in January 1984 Apple released their first Macintosh computer. I bought one and have owned a Macintosh (or several) ever since.

So, you might say I’m an expert on Macs and since I am one of those Mac users that is looking forward to the day that they can run Windows applications (in native mode) on their Macs, I am qualified to speak about this topic.

What is the deal with Mac users that want to run Windows software? I guess for me it’s the ability to consolidate what I do. I have a Windows desktop computer at work and I own several Windows based laptops at home. I also have a Mac laptop (which is what I’m using to write this post) for work and I take it everywhere. I have several Mac desktops at home and my family (wife and children) use both Macs and Windows computers, though out of all of the computers they prefer the iMac with the 20″ display.

I remember when Dr. Bacchus was hired and I asked him what kind of computer he wanted. He surprised me by saying he wanted a Mac laptop. Then, he went on to say he also needed a desktop PC to run Linux. When I asked if he would like the Dell desktop to be set up to dual boot (Windows and Linux), his response was, “Do I need Windows?” Even to this day it makes me smile when I think of his surprising response as I had not hired anyone who didn’t want to have the Windows operating system on their work computer. My response was that it was up to him. So, today his desktop PC is 100% Linux (sorry Bill Gates). Also, he uses his Mac laptop everywhere he goes and seems to really appreciate all that it can do.

What about me, do I need to run Windows? As a technology manager who is responsible for close to 300 people using Windows PC’s I would say that I should be more than a little familiar with the Microsoft Windows operating system and the main applications people use. But, to do my own work I don’t need Windows. In fact, as I indicated, my preference is to use my Mac and that’s what I do so most of the time. At home, it would be nice if the family computer could run both Mac and Windows applications because then purchasing software would be easier. And, my children wouldn’t have to use one computer for one thing and then switch computers for something else.

Possibly, the greatest reason I would like to see Windows applications run in Mac OS X is that it would greatly expand Apple’s market. I would like to see Apple be more successful and people everywhere adopt the Mac OS X operating system as their OS of choice. Many don’t try Mac OS X because they rely on Windows programs and can’t change their applications. Soon, when they don’t have to choose one or the other but can run both on a Mac, they will be able to have their cake and eat it, too. That’s what I am looking forward to.

Comments»

1. Bruce Knack - September 23, 2006

This comment is way, way off topic (sort of):

I was showing someone how to copy/cut/paste today (CTRL-C, CTRL-X, CTRL-V). They wanted to know why these letters (C, X, V) were associated with these commands.

I said… “No connection exists”
He said… “Maybe Latin?”
I said… “Let it go!” (and we both laughed).

OK, so, I can’t let it go. As a former LISA guru, I thought you might know. Wikipedia says that the LISA was one of the first (perhaps the first) computer to introduce the Copy/Cut/Paste paradigm and the keystrokes to support it.


Leave a Reply

