jump to navigation

CEO Scott McNealy leaves Sun April 24, 2006

Posted by Matsu in Management, Technology.
trackback

Tonight I was surprised when I read on Slashdot that Scott McNealy was planning to step down as the CEO of Sun Microsystems. I say surprised because he has been there all of my professional life.Scott McNealy at Educause

I remember the earliest days (back in the mid-1980’s) attending a computer conference where he was one of the keynote speakers. He was a lot more interesting than the other speakers I heard at that conference and I took note that if I had the opportunity to hear him speak again, I would take advantage of it.

Several years later, I heard him speak at NetWorld InterOp. By that time, his reputation and his company had grown, significantly. Also, that was when I first heard him talk about the concept that the network is the computer. He was good. I found him interesting and insightful. I have heard him speak 4 or 5 times since then.

The last time I heard Scott McNealy speak was last fall (2005) at Educause in Orlando. I must say, I had high hopes and was greatly disappointed. He didn’t say anything new and in fact seemed to be a salesperson (pushing his company’s technology and products) and at the same time he was a little desperate. It was not at all what I expected.

What happens when a visionary out lives his vision? He retires.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

