jump to navigation

Hug or bug? April 14, 2006

Posted by Matsu in Family.
trackback

Tonight I was poking around my WordPress.com account and noticed a new feature that provides blog statistics. Unfortunately, it wasn't working and since the WordPress folks asked for feedback on the new statistics, I clicked on the feedback button. What I saw next was this:

Bugs and Hugs
Your thoughts and opinions are the single most important thing to the future of WordPress.com. Please share what you love, what you hate, make a wish, or tell us what you think is a little quirky.

That title immediately reminded me of a game I played with my children when they were very young. They loved the game at 4 or 5 years old, but I regret to say they no longer ask to play the game I called, "Hug or Bug?"

How do you play, "Hug or Bug?" I'm glad you asked. I would ask my daughter or son, "Hug or bug?" and they would respond with "hug" if they wanted a hug and "bug" if they wanted me to tickle them by using my fingers to walk on them as if my hand was a bug. The bug really liked the back of their neck and under their arms where they were most ticklish. Anyway, they would ask to play that game all of the time when they were very young. And, since they got to decide whether they got a hug or got the (tickle) bug, they could mix it up any way they wanted. They controlled the game.

Now, my daughter is 20 years old and my son is 12. Even though they don't want to play it any more, I am sure that some day they will be asking their own children the endearing question, "Hug or bug?"

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

