jump to navigation

You’ve got mail… LOTS of it! April 1, 2006

Posted by Matsu in Mac, Random, Technology.
trackback

This week I have been attending a conference in Grapevine, Texas. It's a few miles north of Dallas, so you might say I'm in Dallas, TX.

Even though I have Internet access in my hotel room and I have my laptop with me, I have been so busy I haven't had any time to really read my e-mail. Nor have I had time (nor energy) to post anything here. The first night I was up visiting with fellow I.T. managers (Gary and Scott) from other colleges and universities well past 2:00am – in fact, it was 3:00am before my head hit the pillow. The morning arrived much too quickly that night. Then, the second night I was out well past midnight trying to solve the world's problems (or at least our part of the world) with my colleagues (Gary, Scott, Dave and Henry).

Imagine my surprise when I went to synch my computer with the Exchange server to download new messages and discovered this…

E-Mail Header Count

Do you see it? "Received 2 of 2088190 headers…" Now, that's a lot of message headers to download. Not really trusting what I saw and not being one to think computers are always right, I stopped the synchronization and checked the message count. Then, I hit the message synch button, again.

This time, I felt a little better. I don't have 2,088,190 new messages. Instead, I have only 2,905 new (unread) messaages.

E-Mail Inbox count

Now, is that good news or bad news? I don't know.

Next week I will be on vacation. So, I won't be reading all of my e-mail any time soon. I guess I'll have my work cut out for me when I get back to the office.

Comments»

1. DrBacchus - April 2, 2006

Actually, that’s not what it says. Look closer!

2 of -2088190 headers

Yep, NEGATIVE two millon messages.

Looks like an integer rollover problem to me. Or perhaps it really read your email for you pre-emptively several years into the future.

2. Matsu - April 2, 2006

DrBacchus, good call. You are right, of course. The e-mail client I use got a little confused and like you said, there was a problem with the value that caused it to rollover.

At first I thought I was the victim of some sort of e-mail spam flood. Then, I thought about it being April 1st and the possibility that it was a joke. But, in the end, it was just a common programming error.

I guess I could say, "April Fools!" but since I was fooled first, I should just say you are not as easily fooled as I am.


Leave a Reply

