jump to navigation

Christmas Eve Tradition December 25, 2005

Posted by Matsu in Family.
trackback

December 24, 2005 at 11:50pm

Every year at this time (on Christmas Eve) I am the last person in my family to remain awake. I spend this time wrapping my presents. In fact, I must wait for everyone else to go to bed before I wrap some of my presents as they are from Santa. Also, I prepare the stockings by filling them with candies and small gifts.

The interesting thing is that I always seem to be busy with these last minute preparations when the midnight mass comes on the television each year. I am not Catholic, but I do like to watch the Christmas Midnight Mass as I finish wrapping presents and fill the stockings. I’ve been doing this for at least 15 years, maybe longer. It’s a wonderful tradition that helps to put me in the mood.

Every year Pope John Paul has led it. But, this year it’s the new Pope that is leading the mass. I think I was in high school when Pope John Paul entered the papacy. It’s amazing that he was Pope for so many years. There is something comforting about having the same Pope year after year.

December 25, 2005 at 12:01am

It is now Christmas day (at least on the East coast).

Merry Christmas, everyone, and happy new year!

Comments»

1. Christmas Eve Tradition Continues… « Matsu’s World: The One Less Traveled - December 25, 2006

[…] I can’t believe a whole year has passed since I wrote this post about my Christmas tradition. Only, this year things are slightly different. The Pope is conducting the Christmas mass as I finish the final Christmas preparations, but I am not wrapping presents. In fact, I finished wrapping presents yesterday, a full day ahead of my normal schedule. […]

2. euandus2 - December 27, 2009

It is interesting that no one has picked up on the pope’s citation of Origen in the homily–namely, Origen’s insistence that pagans such as Hindus can’t love or reason. I’m surprised India hasn’t objected to the insult.
Source: http://deligentia.wordpress.com/2009/12/26/ratzinger-at-the-vatican-hindus-cant-love/


Leave a Reply

